A New Direction

Until recently, this blog consisted exclusively of assignments that I completed for my Public History and New Media course last spring. I reviewed online exhibits, reflected on course readings, and explored the interactivity of New Media as it pertains to the field of Public History. Since the class is now over and done with, this blog will be taking a new direction.

This summer I am working as an Education Assistant with the Chicago History Museum in their Education Department. In my new role, I will work closely with the Manager of Public Programs to plan an educational experience for Chicago-area teens related to their upcoming exhibit Making Mainbocher: The First American Couturier. This experience, called FashioNEXT, is a design competition that challenges creative young people to create, construct, and exhibit garments inspired by the clothing found in the new exhibition. This blog will now serve as a journal of my experiences working on this project as well as my reflections on the process of creating an education program for a museum from start to finish. It will also consist of a log of my activities.  In this journal I hope to connect my work to the theories I learned in my coursework from this past school year, as well as more largely to my knowledge of the profession of public history.

To learn more about the Chicago History Museum click here. A microsite for the Making Mainbocher exhibit and the FashioNEXT program are currently under construction, but the exhibit is featured on the Chicago History Museum’s exhibit page here.

Leave a Reply

